Wino Wednesday // Tommasi Poggio Al Tufo Rompicollo 2012

I finally had some time to make it to a different Independent Wine Shop of Winnipeg, Kenaston Wine Market, which is located on Grant Ave. It is a cute little shop tucked away in a little mall of shops, close to the corner of Kenaston and Grant, making the name, suddenly, less confusing.

I walked in and was greeted with a friendly hello and a question asking if I would like a sample from the tasting bar. I said, “Yes,” and asked what they were sampling. She was unsure but we walked over to the bar and she filled me in quickly. I had the choice between Tussock Jumper Pinot Noir and Arrogant Frog Viognier. I went with the Viognier. To my surprise it was served in an actual glass and I could walk around the store and enjoy it. That alone will get me back in the door. The Viognier was crisp, dry, and balanced. If I read correctly I think it was around the $14 a bottle mark, so definitely something I will keep in mind as the weather warms up, so this afternoon, it was so warm and sunny.

The Kenaston Wine Market has a schedule on their website if you want to check out what will be sampled and when. Go check it out if you are in the neighborhood. Also, there was all of these wooden wine boxes on the very top of the shelves that were for sale. I think I may have to snag a few of those.

Review // Tommai Poggio Al Tugo Rompicollo 2012

Wino Wednesday // Tommasi Poggio Al Tufo Rompicollo 2012

Technical Specs //

Vintage: 2012

Varietal: 60% Sangiovese – 40% Cabernet Sauvignon

Region: Maremma, Tuscany, Italy

Alcohol: 13.0%

Price: $18.99

Note: I lost my receipt and could not find the exact price, this is an estimate based on my memory.

I actually came across this bottle from browsing the International Cellars, Inc wine portfolio. I was actually applying for an opening but I was too sloe joe, such is life. When browsing the portfolio this one jumped out at me, maybe because it is from the Tommasi Family Estates or because I have been drawn to the color orange like a magnet.

Little tidbit, the first time I selected a wine and did a little review for myself was of the Colomé Torrontés which was later featured in a few magazines like Wine Enthusiast and Wine Spectator. That was one of the proudest me moments ever. To suggest a bottle to people because it was delicious and to be ahead of major periodicals in the biz, wowza!

Looks as if the 2011 vintage for this particular bottle got quite a few accolades, Top 100 and a score of 92 both from Wine Spectator. I have not had the 2011 but I can say that this bottle of 2012 is quite delicious. As in, I haven’t forgot where I put my glass delicious.

In the glass the juice is an intense dark ruby color with a nose of blueberries, ripe red cherries, and an herbal quality. It is quite intense on the nose but my sniffer may be off because I just ate far to much Indian food, yum curried potatoes. This wine has an understated opulence to it. I thought that it was going to be over the top but it is balanced and smooth on the palate. A full bodied wine with balanced tannins, a long finish, and a black currant ode.

I will be enjoying another glass of this later this evening.

Cheers

Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

