Wino Wednesday :: Treveri Cellars Extra-Brut “Blanc de Blanc”

2015 and a Happy New Year to you!

I am sure you gathered that I took some time to myself this holiday season, sorry if you were keen on finding holiday wine to pair with your delicious meals. My apologies, but as long as you like the wine the probability of it going well with your food is high, so cheers to whatever your choices were.

It is a new year and what I have deemed a better year for the Loreno/Fullerton house. We set the bar low for 2014 so 2015 doesn’t have to work too hard. This blog was started to fill my time. It was mostly me thinking I would be an amazing DIY blogger, meh, not so much, but then I stumbled onto my weekly wine review. To say that my Wino Wednesday post has keep me sane is a bit of an understatement.

Kept me sane and filled my time, it has. Also, I passed 100 posts before the new year! I thought that was an immensely huge milestone for me because I often get bored of things and move on in a hurry. I guess I found out that wine is truly a love of mine. It has stuck with me for 6 years and I it. This blog was a major part of that this past year.

To start the year off with a POP! I bring you my first review of 2015 with a glass of lively bubbles.

Review: Treveri Cellars Extra-Brut “Blanc de Blanc”

Wino Wednesday :: Treveri Cellars Extra-Brut “Blanc de Blanc” | The little Red Heart

Technical Specs:

Vintage: Non-Vintage
Varietal: 100% Chardonnay
Region: Columbia Valley, Washington
Alcohol: 12.0%
Price: $16.25 LCBO/CAD

This bottle of Washington sparkling wine is made in the Méthode Champenoise, meaning in the same way captial “C” Champagnes are produced, meaning a secondary fermentation takes place in the bottle, not a tank.

In the glass, this wine is a pale straw yellow with what can only be deemed “lively” bubbles; a party in a glass. On the nose, bright green apple with sweet yeasty notes. To note, the yeast is a very compelling and intriguing guest at this party.

This sparkling wine is very dry, has high acidity, and again, lively bubbles. The dryness is due in part to the winemaker adding no dosage. What is dosage, you ask? To boil it down to its most basic form, it means “no-sugar added.” This does not mean it is marketed to those that care about that sort of thing, but to those that want a shockingly dry sparkler. Essentially, dosage is a sweet wine that is added to each bottle before being corked. The amount of dosage added gives you the dryness of the finished product: extra-brut, brut, extra-dry, dry, demi sec, the latter being the sweet end of the scale.

To me, dry Champagne and sparkling wine goes with all meals but not all desserts. As Jameson Fink succinctly put it, “Sparkling wine is the Swiss Army Knife of wines. It is the one (liquid, bubbly) tool that can work with just about anything thrown its way.”

What I gathered is that this is particular sparkling wine is perfect to have “in your back pocket” as something you can snag off the shelf and know it will accompany most foods well at whatever event you are going to or having and it has the potential to gift well, too.

Drink up!

Marisa

One thought on “Wino Wednesday :: Treveri Cellars Extra-Brut “Blanc de Blanc”

Tell Me What You Think

