Wino Wednesday :: Domaine Du Clos De Sixte 2011 Lirac

Oh lordy lord. It is only Wednesday, late Wednesday but Wednesday none-the-less and I feel like an entire week happened today. I guess I burned out quick this week. It didn’t help that Christmas music was playing everywhere and telling me that I have an extra two weeks to get my act together! AH!

I suppose you are reading this thinking, “Dude I had my holiday shopping list done this summer,” or you are totally in the same boat and know exactly how I am feeling.

Non-holiday related is the awesome thing that happened when I was at the LCBO picking up this and other wines a few weeks ago was the conversation I had with an absolutely charming lady. If memory serves her name is Maxine and she is a flight attendant that loves wines but not the prices she has to pay in Ontario. This is what struck up the conversation. The off the cuff comment that you make towards another not expecting a genuine response but I am my mother’s daughter so I responded with blah blah blah, my perspective, blah blah blah.

Honestly, I probably sounded like the biggest snot because I was in a particularly foul mood but she still indulged me. I think we chatted for 20 minutes before decisions had to be made on what wines to purchase. She was a bright spot in a line of dull LCBO stops looking for a particular wine.

For reals people, she talked about the places she stops while on the job, the wines she purchases, and the relationships she has formed with wine lovers and wine shops. Her passport is no slouch too. She talked of a favorite place in Italy and Chilean wines to just name a couple, I was in awe. The ability to have a job that allowed one to fulfill a wine dream and get it so close to the source, too cool.

She had glasses to die for and mentioned her age and how it was “catching” up to her and I was like “damn girl, you doin’ real good!” In all honesty, she reminded me of my mom, which is a TOTAL compliment if you happen to read this Maxine. They have a similar height, build, great glasses, super chatty with still being genuine, similar age, way different hair though.

I have a hard time living so far away from my mom so it was nice running into someone that was strangely supportive, yet a total stranger that reminded me of my mom.

Needless to say I left the LCBO with an extra pep in my step because my day had just went from drab to fab! This review is of a wine that I picked up that very day so hopefully I picked a good one.

Disclaimer: I thought I heard Maxine but I could have misheard that or filled in the gap of my memory from a few weeks ago with a wrong name. Oops. If I got it wrong PLEASE let me know. Well, no matter her name, she was quite nice.

Review: Domaine Du Clos De Sixte 2011 Lirac

ClosSixteWEB

Technical Specs

Vintage: 2011

Varietal: 50% Grenache noir, 35% Syrah, 15% Mourvèdre

Region: Lirac, Rhône, France

Alcohol Content: 15.0%

Price: $24.95 CAD

It may be best to tell a little blurb about the region of Rhône that this wine comes from because it is not uber popular in the grand scheme of French wine growing areas and this may be the first one I have had (and remember) from this region. Lirac AOC, is named for the town of Lirac and is located 10km west, across the Rhône from the ever well known Châteauneuf-du-Pape AOC. It is fair to mention that Lirac has a many similarities in terroir when compared to Châteauneuf-du-Pape on the opposite bank.

First things first, I love this bottle. The glass bottle has the word LIRAC and crest of some sort and other bits that are a blown part of the glass. Nifty I think. Once poured the juice is an inky ruby color. After first sip I immediately set this glass down and walked away, if you have the time and ability may I suggest you decant this. It opens up and more nuances of the wine come through.

On the nose, this blend has black cherry, leather, and an vegetal/herbal quality. A very aromatic wine that has a complexity that reals you in. A bold palate that showcases the nose beautifully with what my nose percieved as vegetal/herbal ended up being grass and soil. This is medium-bodied and very easy to drink. The tannins are smooth and balanced and the finish is lengthy. It seems to just fade off subtly.

This is an easy drinker like I mentioned, but full and complex. It is suggested to decant for about an hour before consumption or you can decant and sip a bit here and there to taste it open up.

If you are looking for food to have with this may I suggest any roasted or stewed meat dishes If you like to avoid meat, think vegetables that have more heft, so say grilled or baked portobello with a balsamic glaze. My mind immediately wandered to carpaccio-style portobello mushrooms that I had a Veg Out, a vegan restuarant here in London, ON. I also think a vegetable, maybe a lot of root veggies, stew would do the trick.

You can drink this now or store and cellar for the next 4-5 years.

Drink up!

Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

