Wino Wednesday :: Tres Picos 2012 Borsao Garnacha

Wednesday once again!

Wino Wednesday :: Tres Picos 2012 Borsao Garnacha | The little Red Heart

These seem to be coming faster and faster, is that just because it is Fall and everyone and everything are already thinking months ahead to December…? Not this girl, I love Fall and try to enjoy every ounce of it I can. It was Canadian Thanksgiving this past weekend and I was busy all weekend doing tastings: Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. I was tasting some lovely Ontario wines, I am going to list my top 3 of the 6 that I sampled.

Henry of Pelham Cabernet MerlotNiagara Region red blend

Henry of Pelham RieslingNiagara Region

Bricklayer’s Predicament Chardonnay Pinot GrigioNorth Shore Lake Erie White Blend

You know what else I have been up to?

Purging.

It is a favorite of mine. Every so often when I the mood strikes I start going through every little corner of the house and donate and throw stuff out. It is so much fun! This time around I am being ultra serious because whenever/where ever Cody gets offered his first grown-up job after the completion of his masters in December we will most likely be on the move again, and I do not want to move crap.

I have even gotten rid of pieces of furniture….this is a BIG deal for me.

This is mostly huge for me because Cody and I have sat down and talked about what we want from our home. This means we have decided to change some of the color schemes, the mood, and feel of our space when we move. I love our spaces now but I think this year of shit, dumped on shit, piled on top of us and never getting a reprieve has forced development in both ourselves but our relationship as well.

As of now, we like where we are headed as a couple and I think we make a pretty damn good pair.

Oh my gawd, Marisa, stop talking about heavy stuff and get along to the wino part.

I know, I know. Pip, pip.

Review :: Borsao Tres Picos Garnacha 2012

Wino Wednesday :: Tres Picos 2012 Borsao Garnacha | The little Red Heart

Technical Specs

Varietal: 100% Grenache

Vintage: 2012 Limited Edition

Region: Campo de Borja,

Alcohol Content: 15%

Price: $19.95 CAD

I was standing at my tasting station and looked over when one of the LCBO employees was trying to find a place on the shelf for this wine and for some reason I just wanted to buy it. I often ask Cody what I should try for my wines, and he said a Spanish Red. Winner, winner.

In the glass, this Spanish red is a deep, and I mean deep ruby color. On the nose, there is rich red fruit, loads of sweet raspberries. This is a full-bodied wine yet extremely juicy with a very long finish. It is surprising how this wine tastes vs. what it smells like on the nose. This wine has loads of juicy fruit and a touch of minerality. Considering that this seems sweet on the nose and palate the tannins and finish are much more savory.

Its like drinking a snack that evokes both the sweet and salty.

Baically, this is a fan-freakin-tastic Grenache for a steal of a price, and you should snag a bottle of this and see if you like it!

This is a bottle of wine that you could hold onto for 3-4 years and it would not kill it, so if you are patient buy one and take my word for it. If you are not, buy two, drink one now and keep the other for later.

Drink up!

Marisa

P.S. This got a double 92 point score, one from Parker and the other from Tanzer, so don’t just take my word for it.

Tell Me What You Think

