Wino Wednesday :: Finca Flichman Misterio Malbec 2013

Wednesday, Wednesday, Wednesday…

It is a dreary day here. The kind where you want to wear your most comfortable clothes and hide under a blanket. Considering I am not working I am always amazed at the little bit of will power I have left kicking in, I could just hide in my bed all day. Alas, I would like to keep some semblance of my sanity so I get up and putz about the house.

Maybe because it is almost Fall, my favorite season, I have been doing a lot of reflecting. All ages of students are moving on to a new year of school and here I seem to be frozen. Time is moving so slowly for me, almost to the point of going backwards.  Time is so relative; it is weird.

I sound depressing to be around, I assure you I am not that bad. It may take me awhile to to get into the grove of a conversation but I assure you I still have things to add. Except to a conversation that I had with someone new that I had met yesterday. This person had been everywhere. Instead of name dropping it was destination dropping. “I was in Guatemala for the winter.” ” I was just in Rio and Buenas Aires.” “When I was traveling around Europe.” “Chile, I loved going there.” ” I did a wine tour in Mendoza.”

I become mesmerized by all the travel some people have under their belts and always wonder how? Then I think, it is not the how for these people it is the when. How has so many other questions that follow it but when is a date or a time.

I guess I should start thinking like a when kind of person from now on, it has less baggage.

I hope you are not thinking WHEN am I going to get to the review. Hahaha, to the review!

Review :: Mistero Malbec 2013

Wino Wednesday :: Finca Flichman Misterio Malbec 2013 | The little Red Heart

Technical Specs ::

Varietal: Malbec

Vintage: 2013

Region: Mendoza, Argentina

Alcohol Content: 13.5%

Price: $9.95 CAD

Sad to say but it took me pouring and drinking most of the glass to finalyl remember where on earth I got this bottle of Malbec from. It dawned on me. This was a bottle that Cody won at a storytelling “party” with a bunch of his MLIS (Masters of Library and Information Science) peers. I was wondering why I would pick up a bottle of under $10 Malbec at the LCBO. This in no way is to preface the wine as being bad, it was just a shock.

In the glass the wine is deep black garnet color with anything but subtle aromas of dark stone fruit, florals, tobacco, and oak. Similar to the aromas this wine on the palate is a heavy hitter yet still medium bodied. It has tastes of the same dark stone fruit with heavy oak and long lasting tannins. Surprisingly, the finish is quite nice on this Malbec.

This bottle would be considered a value priced wine and I would recommend it with a dinner of heavy fare foods, red meats and hard cheeses that are full of flavor, similar to Parmesan or Gruyere. Even the touch of dark chocolate I was eating helped cut through the acidity a bit and let the flavor shine through.

All in all for under $10 at the LCBO, this is both easy on your wallet and palate. Can’t beat that!

Drink up!

Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

