Wino Wednesday :: Piattelli Vineyards 2013 Rose of Malbec

Hiddy Ho, Neighbors. Sorry about my missing my Wino Wednesday post last week. I chilled a bottle of Chardonnay that my father had given me and was very much looking forward to it. I opened it and bah! this is a little acidic, maybe it needs to relax a bit. It sat on the table and Cody tried it and all I heard from the other room was YUCK. I said to him, “nah, it’s not that bad.” Then a friend, Kelly, came over and proceeded to do the same thing except her response was “ish, this needs to go back into the barrel.” I was all like, “nah, it’s not that bad.”

I came back to it, drank some and thought to myself this is bad, bad, bad. I would make an assumption that the Chardonnay is quite nice from what I have read, but this bottle had turned and was not salvageable. I only mentioned this because sometimes a bottle of wine has been ruined, either by heat, cold, or a gap in the cork that lets air in. Shit happens, but just because that bottle is bad does not mean the the label is bad. Remember to take back the bottle to the store you bought it from and ask for a replacement. This should not be an issue because all parties involved stand to gain by replacing a turned bottle.

I am a diet hoarder so I keep my receipts for all my alcohol purchases just in case.

I hope that you my lovely neighbors are not tired of Rose/Blush wine reviews, because I have been having a love affair with them all summer; I do not foresee it stopping until well into the fall.

Review: Piattelli Vineyards 2013 Premium Reserve Rose of Malbec

Wino Wednesday :: Piattelli Vineyards 2013 Rose of Malbec

Technical Specs:

Varietal: 91% Malbec 9% Torrontes

Vintage: 2013

Region: Lujan de Cuyo, Argentina

Alcohol Content: 14.0%

Price: $13.99 USD

This ‘special’ Rose is a blend of Piattelli Grand Reserve Malbec and Premium Torrontes both of which are highly rated by Robert Parker. If you don’t know who Robert Parker Jr. is, no worries, he is a smart dude that knows his stuff, writes reviews, and scores wines out of 100. Honestly, he has this no nonsense air about his reviews that cut out the extra crap that can follow from the label to a critics palate. If Robert Parker Jr. likes it, than you will too.

Off on a bit of a tangent there, getting back to the wine now.

The one thing that I first noticed about this Rose is that you must heed the serving temperature suggestion of 54˚F because if this is overly chilled the nuances and flavor of the wine will be lost.

In the glass this Rose is the popping color of a blushing peach, it is cute! Piattelli tells us that this particular wine is where elegant meets fun. It smells of  light fruits, a touch of spice, and light white flowers. This is not a sweet wine, it is medium bodied with bright fruits and the spice of oak on the palate. On the finish this rose has a pleasant, yet slightly high acidity with lingering tannins.

Try pairing this summertime wine with an avocado tuna roll as per recommendation of the winemaker, and also I think a touch of salt would be perfect, say a goat cheese crostini variation.

Drink up!

Marisa

P.S. Just so you are aware I have a the worst allergies right now and my nose is plugged because I am watching the Stargate SG-1, Season 7, Episodes 17 & 18 (Heros: Part I and II) and it is my kryptonite, a major character dies and I KNOW ITS COMING BUT IT STILL GETS ME! I have previously had this wine and thus why I choose to review it even with my allergies flaring up.

Tell Me What You Think

