Wino Wednesday :: Mapema 2009 Malbec

Hello hello! This post is a little late but I got around to it, even on this crazy day of running around like a crazed lady!

This has been a tremendously crazy past week and upcoming week for me. My mother so kindly told me that when it comes to my life there is either feast or famine. Feast or famine, so much for striving towards balance. You know the feeling where you have simultaneously completed nothing and everything at the same time? That is what I feel like I am doing right now. I have had an amazing opportunity presented to me, career wise, and I truly hope that it will all works out and I can tell you more about it. Fingers crossed!

Review: Mapema 2009 Malbec

Wino Wednesday :: Mapema 2009 Malbec | The little Red Heart

Technical Specs:

Varietal: 100%  Malbec

Vintage: 2009

Region: Mendoza, Argentina

Alcohol Content: 13.9%

Price: $21.95 CAD  Side note: I did get this one stateside so the price will vary.

Malbec from Argentina is a gift of wonderful proportions to the wine world; most eloquently put, “The most emblematic Argentinean wine is made of this variety.” (winesorargentina.org)

This particular bottle of Malbec was consistently being called, “superflashy.” Once I had my first sip I completely understood, an intense garnet color in the glass with a nose that yearns to be free. Hints of oak, new and old French barrels, cocoa, and sour cherry fill your nostrils.

Drinking the wine is easy, if you love powerful wines. The dark red and black berries are intense on the palate, but are perfectly shaped by the oak and tannins on the finish that is long and lasting.

This wine can easily stand up to meat, so pair wisely with grilled pork loin or hamburgers. If meat is not the treat for you, try making a heavy black bean burger that could stand up to such and intense red wine.

Malbec is not generally for the faint of heart, but if you love a powerful glass of wine, pick this up and see what you think of it.

Ooh, here is a picture of Niagara Falls. I visited there last week to meet up with family for dinner. After a couple hours of Cody and I marching around the falls, taking pictures, and generally in awe of the whole thing we met for dinner. At dinner, Addie, who is generally a lighter wine drinker and I, who was warm for the earlier mentioned walking, order Como Sur Bicicleta Chardonnay. It was delish. A Chard full of green apples and pear that is bone dry accompanied by a bright acid. Perfect for a hot summer day!

Dudes, I totally took this picture too!

Niagara Falls | The little Red Heart

Drink Up!

Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

