Wino Wednesday :: 2012 Scagliola Mati Barbera

Are you ever in one of those moods where you would like to avoid using your brain? Not necessarily for any particular reason it just happens to me every once and a while and today happens to be one of those days. I went up to my office, sat down, turned on Awesome Mix 1 from Guardians of the Galaxy and chilled.

Side note: Guardians of the Galaxy was my birthday request, a tad early but I was so eager to go see it and it did not disappoint at all. The music, Awesome Mix 1, is a character itself and is a whole lotta grove on one cassette. Go see it if you are at all tempted.

After chilling for a bit, I was like, oh crap, I have to drink some wine! Then set in the debacle of WHAT to drink. Luckily, I just saw my parents last week and my dad sent me home with a couple of bottles, one of which is an easy drinker. Sold.

I sat outside on my front steps soaking up the rays, starring at my nifty shoes, and sippin’ this wine with music playing in the background. That is a whole lotta winning.

IMG_2067

Review: 2012 Scagliola Mati Barbera

Wino Wednesday :: 2012 Scagliola Mati Barbera | The little Red Heart

 

Technical Specs:

Varietal: 100% Barbera

Vintage: 2012

Region: Piedmont, Italy

Alcohol Content: 13.5%

Price: N/A

What do I think of this adorable glass of red?

It may have been the song that I was listening to, Cherry Bomb by The Runaways, influencing my taste buds, but this has a bright black cherry/plum acidity to it that screams summertime red. Toss in a bit of chalk and a slight leather making this an nice quaffing wine. On the palate this wine is both sleek and smooth, ending with the vivid acidity I mentioned before. This wine is versatile with food pairing, a few suggestions being white meats, soups, pizza, or really anything with a tomato based sauce.

Shout out to those in and around the Fergus Falls, MN area: Go have this wine at The Spot Panini & Wine and visit with my pops. He is a pretty cool dude. If you don’t live in the area, to bad because his bruschetta is to die for.

Drink up!

Marisa

P.S. I was also perusing through OLD Mr. Boston De Luxe Official Bartender’s Guide and found this written in the front inside cover. Hilarious!

“Ignorance of the contents here in has probably ruined more social careers than lack of birth control!” -Dad

Wino Wednesday :: 2012 Scagliola Mati Barbera | The little Red Heart

P.P.S Holy more pictures than words, but my camera and me have started to get along!

 

 

 

Tell Me What You Think

