Wino Wednesday :: Napa Cellars Pinot Noir 2011

I have been gone for two weeks. I know, I know, I have a million and one excuses, but the fact is I was just too overwhelmed with all the crap that was dumped on Cody and I in the last month. I know,  I know, everyone has crap and my crap isn’t any stinkier than any other’s, but sometimes you just need a break. I took one. Guess what? It was nice for a bit but then all the crap reared its stanky face.

All this talk of crap is unappealing, so moving on!

Wine…I drank it, I looked at it, I shopped for it, and I gifted it on my week-long trip where Cody married a couple of friends and we harassed my parents for a bit.

The best part was hands down Wednesday Night Trivia at The Spot Panini & Wine, which included wine, muffaletta, bruschetta, family, friends, and way too much fun! Just thinking about The Spot I crave some bruschetta. Best. Ever.

I mentioned earlier that I was stateside and I wanted to make the most of my duty free on the way back, so we stopped by a liquor store. I just randomly picked a couple bottles out so hopefully I did good. Oh, the best part, my mom bought the wine and beer for us, she’s just the coolest.

Review: Napa Cellars Napa Valley Pinot Noir 2011

Wino Wednesday :: Napa Cellars Pinot Noir 2011 | The little Red Heart

Technical Specs:

Varietal: Pinot Noir

Vintage: 2011

Appellation: Napa Valley, California

Alcohol Content: 13.9%

Price: $16.99 USD

In the glass this Pinot Noir is a bright garnet color with a rim that fades to a light watery pink. It brings aromas of ripe cherries and raspberry that have been kept in a cedar chest. Okay, okay, the cedar is not that overpowering but the oak was one of the first things to hit me. On the palate ripe cherries lead the way with a bright acidity and easy drinking tannins.

This is not my favorite Pinot Noir, but to be fair I am hard on the varietal because my first love, or Ah-Ha moment was with a Pinot Noir. This means my memory of it is so profound that I place the varietal on a high pedestal.

I consider this an easy intro to the world of reds. It is easy to drink but not juicy. Also, I could imagine that it would be a very versatile wine with food, and that food may even enhance the wine itself.

Please don’t take my word for it, get out there and try try try!

Drink up!

Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

