Thirsty Thursday :: Wild Oats 2011 Shiraz

Hello

Cody and I decided on a whim to travel to my parents for Easter weekend, so this post is late late late. Traveling always makes me forget what day it is, or that chronic problem is more noticeable when I am traveling. This is why there was no Wino Wednesday but fret not, Thirsty Thursday is here to save the day!

I always love being stateside because the wine selection usually gets more interesting and the craft beer selection makes me weep tears of joy.

The small city I grew up in has Municipal liquor stores which makes them more similar to the LCBO then I care to get into, but it was still nice having more selection of wines in the $12 – $16 range.

I picked this one out because the name made me giggle. At least that combined with my mom and I dancing in the aisle to, ” a song about love.” That means we have no idea what the name of the song was or who performed it but we just knew it, you know?

Review: Wild Oats 2011 Shiraz

Thirsty Thursday :: Wild Oats Shiraz 2011

Technical Specs:

Varietal: Shiraz

Vintage: 2011

Appellation: Mudgee, New South Wales, Central Ranges, Australia

Alcohol Content: 13.5%

Price: $14.99 USD

In the glass this wine is a deep garnet colour, that iconic and beautiful colour of Australian Shiraz’s that I love. For reals people, Australia makes a mean Shiraz, so do me a solid and buy something over the $10 price point, you will be delightfully surprised.

This Shiraz is very different on the nose in comparison to other Australian Shiraz, less of the bold jammy fruits and more earthy tones. By earthy, I think, densely wooden forest with wonderful undertones of red wild berries and a touch of black pepper. I get all of the previously mentioned aromas on the palate accompanied with a slight acidity and smooth tannic finish.

I would call this wine an everyday drinker, meaning you could eat this with many different foods or just enjoy a glass, or bottle, in the evening.

What is the one thing about wine that you would like to know more about? Leave your answer in the comments below!

Love. Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

