Wino Wednesday :: Grooner 2012 Grüner Veltliner

Hello.

Have you ever had one of those ah-ha moments in regards to wine?  Or better, have you over heard wine geeks, nerds, and snobs alike talking about the same varietal or label with unending enthusiasm?

I have had both of the above happen to me personally, the first being awesome, and the second being a little disheartening. If you are not actively searching for new and interesting wines sometimes it can feel like a spectator sport.

This Wino Wednesday I have a new and interesting varietal, so suit up.

Review: Grooner 2012 Grüner Veltliner

Wino Wednesday :: Grooner 2012 Grüner Veltliner | The little Red Heart

Technical  Specs:

Varietal: Grüner Veltliner

Vintage: 2012

Appellation: Niederösterreich, Austria

Alcohol Content: 12.1%

Price: $14.00 CAD

Right now you are probably thinking WTF Marisa I have never heard of this type of wine before! No worries. Albeit I had heard of this varietal, but never myself tasted it and when I found a bottle well under my desired price range of $20 I was excited.

What is Gruner Veltliner?

Grüner Veltliner, is pronounced [GROO-ner Velt-LEEN-er], thus the adorable name for the wine, Grooner.

This varietal is the #1 selling white grape in Austria, it is the hallmark of Austrian wines. Now I can totally understand why all the Somm’s talked about this varietal with such love.

This varietal has been described as similar to that of Pinot Grigio and Sauvignon Blanc and I couldn’t agree more with that statement.

In the glass this wine is a pale straw color, accompanied by a nose of crisp apple and citrus fruits, but do not be fooled because this wine is bone dry, my friends, bone dry.

One the palate there are the same qualities of the nose, but a pronounced minerality comes through intensely, thus the bone dry quality. One other strange characteristic of Grüner Veltliner and this wine is a spicy, white pepper.

The great thing about Grüner Veltliner is its pairing capabilities, they seem infinite. This grape can pair well with everything that whites can pair with and many of the same things that red wine can pair with.

This wine was delicious and I enjoyed every sip, but I love my white wines as dry as I can wine find them and this fits that bill perfectly. I would suggest picking up a bottle of Grooner and enjoy a ice cold glass of Grüner Veltliner with your next meal.

Love. Marisa

P.S. I went to the London, ON Central Library Branch and checked out those books in the picture! I am excited to use that Paper Flowers one!

Tell Me What You Think

