Wino Wednesday :: Reserva Casillero del Diablo Sauvignon Blanc 2013

Hello.

Wednesday here and you know what that means! Wine! Today has been one of those meh kind of days, but I was craving Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand! I think it was because it was such a beautiful day outside, it almost felt like Spring was around the corner.

Off to the LCBO I went, and ended up leaving with a Chilean Sauvignon Blanc because it was already chilled. Yes, if buying white wine, I go straight to the chilled section.

Review: Reserva Casillero del Diablo Sauvignon Blanc 2013

Wino Wednesday :: Reserva Casillero del Diablo Sauvignon Blanc 2013 | The little Red Heart

Technical Specs:

Varietal: Sauvignon Blanc

Vintage: 2013

Appellation: Casablanca, Limari & Rapel Valleys, Chile

Alcohol Content: 12.5%

Price: $11.95 CAD

As I mentioned earlier I went to the LCBO looking for a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc and settled from this Chilean. Expectations and previous experiences play such a huge role in wine drinking, the first taste for me was awful, because I was craving NZ juice. Please, always be conscious of your expectations when drinking wine, because it can make or break a bottle.

I stepped away from my glass for a bit and came back…

Once I was back I was impressed by the elegance of this Sauvignon Blanc.

In the glass this wine is a pale golden yellow with green undertones, leaving your glass looking bright and clean. On the nose, pears, green apples, loads of citrus, especially lime. It is absolutely fresh smelling, with a touch of other fresh tropical fruits.

This wine is fresh all the way through! My husband said it tastes like apple juice and I thought it tasted like pear juice, we conceded and figured it was a delicious blend of both fresh green apples and crisp green pears. The freshness is absolutely wonderful and reminds me of sorbet in between courses, where your palate is snapped back to life. Similar to the nose, on the palate it produces hints of tropical fruits: the acidity of pineapple, the boldness of passion fruit, and loads of lime, with a slight minerality.

The majority of the grapes come from Casabalanca which is a cool climate region, this makes the wine very refreshing while also having balanced acidity. I am not that surprised that I loved this because anything that is fermented in 100% stainless steel is usually my glass of wine. đŸ˜‰

What would you eat with this? Seafood, seafood, seafood.

Well, you can venture into fish but whatever it is be sure it is lightly grilled or poached. If you are looking for more then just a main I would suggest you try anything lighter fare.

Best way to learn how to match is by practicing!

This YouTube video is for an older vintage, but I just loved listening to the winemaker talk, so enjoy!

Love. Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

