Window Shopping: A DIY Valentine Shaker Card

Day 13 | Window Shopping: A DIY Valentine Shaker Card | The Little Red Heart

Hello. Welcome to Day 13! The sky’s the limit on this Window Shopping Valentine.

I wanted to make a card with confetti that bounced around in a card but did not make the mess.  I fiddled around until I started to throw confetti at the walls in a bout of frustration.

That was about the time I stepped away from the card and went to harass my husband. On my way, I remembered that I am an avid collector of How-To books, covering topics like cards, paper craft, book binding, etc. I have this book called, Cards that pop up, flip & slide, by Michael Jacobs, that has amazing directions for fun and exciting cards. He has one card called the Shaker Card and that is where I got a little inspiration for this card DIY.

Expert guidance by Michael Jacobs and a little making do with what I have, I present the Looking Glass: A DIY Valentine Shaker Card.

Window Shopping: A DIY Valentine Shaker Card | The Little Red HeartWindow Shopping: A DIY Valentine Shaker Card | The Little Red Heart

Supplies:

2 pieces 4.25″ x 5.5″ card stock for Templates

1 piece Foam Core – 4.25″ x 5.5″ needed

2 piece 4.25″ x 5.5″ Card Stock — front and back cover pieces

Polyester Film or Sandwich Bag – 4.25″ x 5.5″ needed

Paper Cutter

Black Marker

Bone Folder

Ruler

Glue stick

Double Sided Tape

Pencil

Eraser

Sharp Edges — Utility Blade and X-Acto knife

Trinkets or Confetti for window

Step 1. Cut two 4.25″ x 5.5″ pieces of paper. These will form Template 1 and 2.

Step 2. Precisely draw out window and cut to your desired shape. I choose a rectangle measuring 3.25″ x 2 1/8.”

Step 3. Cut out window with straight edge and blade, being sure to make smooth quick movements so cuts are as clean as possible. This makes Template 1.

Step 4. Place Template 1 on top of other cut piece of paper and trace window.

Step 5. Measure 1/8” inch inside of traced window and draw shape again. Cut out the inner shape. This makes Template 2.

Step 6. Cut out a 4.25”x5.5” piece of foam core and trace Template 1  and cut out window.

Note: Foam core is difficult to cut smoothly so be sure to apply ample pressure and have a blade that will go all the way through the foam core on first cut.

Step 7. Using marker, color edges of foam core along the outside edge and inside window.

Note: I colored the inside edges of window with black and covered the outside edges with aluminum tape, because a Valentine isn’t a Valentine without a little aluminum foil, for me at least.

Step 8. Choose pattern and color for back of card and cut to 4.25″ x 5.5.” Glue on back of card and burnish.

Note: To burnish: place a piece of scrap paper over just glued back liner and use bone folder (or credit card) to spread glue evenly, starting from center and working outward. Burnishing stops bubbles and produces a more polished finished product.

Step 9. Fill window with trinkets or confetti of your choice. I glued a heart in place and then strung key from top. This was done using needle and thread.

Step 10. Apply glue to top side of foam core and adhere polyester film.

Note: I used a sandwich bag cut to be slightly bigger than window. Gluing only around edge of window and then adhering plastic. My sandwich bag had a touch of warp to it so I could not force it to lay flat completely, so keep this in mind when picking out a bag. 😉

Step 11. Choose pattern or color for front of card and cut to 4.25″ x 5.5.” Using Template 2, trace and cut out window. Glue this piece to the front of card and burnish.

Step 12. You have a complete shaker card!

Note: I used washi tape to make a frame around my window and placed a tag under window saying, “The Key to my Heart,” which matched my hanging key theme in the shaker window. This shaker card could also be placed on top of folded card to become the front and then it would open and you could have a traditional card with the window on the front.

This card will take a bit of time, but know that it is worth it for that one special Valentine. I would suggest wrapping this card up in pretty wrapping paper and giving the “card” as a gift!

Love. Marisa

Tell Me What You Think

