Wino Wednesday: Trius Cabernet Franc

Review: Trius Cabernet Franc

Technical Specs

Varietal: Cabernet Franc

Vintage: 2012

Appellation: Niagara Peninsula, Ontario, Canada

Alcohol Content:13.5%

Price: $14.95

I walked into my first ever Metro (a grocery store) and inside there was also a small store that sold wines, mostly Ontarian, shocking. I asked the clerk for assistance because I know nothing of Ontarian wines other than people in Ontario take great pride in them (that may be a Canadian thing in general). The clerk was less than helpful so I just grabbed the closest thing to me. I walked out with the Trius Cabernet Franc.

Upon inspection of my glass of wine I saw a bright ruby rim with a deep garnet center, followed by a nose full of smoke, slight oak, pepper, and black currant. First sip revealed FRUIT, cherries, red raspberries, blackberries accompanied by high acidity and tannins, but ending with a smooth, slightly tannic finish.

This may not suit everyone’s fancy. If you enjoy red wines and are looking for something full of flavor buy easy to drink this would be it!

Ciao!

2 thoughts on “Wino Wednesday: Trius Cabernet Franc

Tell Me What You Think

